Question about scope base for Savage rifle

Werewolf1021

So, I am a complete newbie to all things long range. I just picked up a new rifle (Savage 11 Trophy Hunter XP in .308) and have a few questions to get started shooting some targets.

As I said, I have a Savage 11 Trophy hunter in .308 that came with a Nikon scope, some rings, and a 2 piece base.

After reading some thread on this website, I decided to buy a Zeiss Conquest 3-9X40mm from Opticsplanet for an awesome deal of $377 using a 10% off coupon promotion they have going on. I also wanted to upgrade the rings to Burris Signature Zee rings but have not bought them yet. The nikon scope and rings are going on my Ruger 1022.

That leaves the scope base. I have no idea of the quality of the base that came with this rifle.

I plan on shooting out to ranges no farther than 750-800 yards. If I ever want to go further, I plan on upgrading to a different scope.

First, can anyone recommend a scope base for this rifle? Or should I keep the stock base?

Second, should this base be 0 MOA or a higher MOA (like 20?) for shooting at these ranges? I realize it will vary based on the round used, but i would like a ball park. The Zeiss has 64 MOA (I believe) total adjustment, so 32 MOA each direction.

Love this site, and it has been very helpful. Thanks in advance. :cool:

Also, if anyone has any other suggestions for rings I would like to hear them.

Go and zero what you got, then figure out how much "wasted" elevation you used up. If your useable elevation remaining lets you shoot to 750-800 yards then leave it alone. If you need more MOA then add a canted base. My BA10 zero ate up 35 MOA of my scopes elevation so I added a 40 MOA base.

I like Ken Farrell one piece bases for Savages.

A 308 is going to drop ~ 200 inches by 800 yards.
That is ~ 20 moa correction with a 200 yard zero.
I have never been able to get hunting accuracy with more than 8 moa correction...That's why I stalk to within 500 yards.