Question about minimum energy....recurve related

Dan B

I've been toying with a no name recurve for the last five months. Not sure of the draw weight...found it in an old gunshop that dad used to work at in a pile of other archery stuff. I made a 16 strand FF string and installed catwhiskers. I've got onto shooting it quite well. Using Easton 2114 XX75's, full length shafts to weaken them a little (so maybe 31-ish inches), three sheild cut 5" white feathers, right twist from an Arizona, and Bear 145gr Razorheads. Finshed weight is 505gr. It's quiet and smooth!

I finally chronied it today over the Oehler 35. It's shooting the above arrows at 182fps. I used to have a formula for calculating FPE but not sure where it went to.

The question...would you fellow stick toters feel comfortable carrying this 505gr arrow @ 182fps for whitetails?? Not worried about "keep your shots w/in XX yds"...my max is 20yds, unless you feel the max should be closer with this "load"?

Way more than minimum energy at 20 yards, and I am compound only!

My only caveat, and it really should go without saying, but sharpen the broadheads!

I see shooter after shooter, shoot at a Styrofoam target, then put the arrows back in the quiver ready to hunt.
They will be the same guy that swears they made a good shot but the arrow did not go through or there was a very short blood trail!!

edge.

ALWAYS sharpen before you Hunt!!

These are only my practice and small game arrows...have another matched set for deer hunting.

My last compound set up was over 82FPE according to the formula that was provided in an old Easton catalog. I think it was something like velocity squared times the arrow weight then divided by 450,240. By that formula the recurve is 37FPE.