Question about crimping rounds

LordScythe

Hey everyone I need to ask you all a question about crimping your rounds. I tried to crimp one of my rounds to see how it would work out cause I am new to reloading and when I did it I think I might have overdone it though I followed the instructions and it turned out like this. Do yall think it would be safe to still shoot this round or disassemble it and try to re-do it after adjusting my die.

mail-1.jpg

Last edited:
Your picture leaves a lot to be desired, but I'll try to answer your question. There is really no need to crimp if you are loading for a bolt gun and I would advise against it unless you are going to purchase a Lee Factory Crimp die and crimp as a separate operation from bullet seating. Loading for an auto is where you need to crimp.

From what I see in your picture it appears you collapsed your neck into the shoulder slightly. If the round will chamber (doubtful) you can fireform the wrinkle out but if it is a high pressure load you will likely see some pressure signs. Better to disassemble the round, pull the bullet. Use a low pressure powder charge and some cotton ball or similar material to hold the charge in place and fireform the wrinkle out without a projectile. Or just toss it.

My opinion differs; it will likely chamber fine and, if it does, it will surely fire safely. You "followed directions" too enthusastically. You over crimped and drove the neck backwards.