Process for choosing a gun

IdahoJoe

I was wondering about everyone's process fro picking out a gun.

This is how I did it last time

1. Pick the bullet you would like to hunt with

2. Choose a velocity

3. Pick a cartridge and barrel length to achieve the desired velocity

4. Choose a barrel.

5. Choose a action

6. Choose stock, trigger etc.

7. Choose as scope (should be step 1. or 2.)

I actually ended up stopping at 3 and buying instead of building do to budget restraints.

I am new to the long range world and just recently purchased my first rifle with the mind set of shooting LR. I didn't have a big budget so I shopped around. To start off I knew what the purpose was for the rifle. I also knew what caliber i wanted. I wanted something that could "do it all". I chose the .308. It is a great round if u want to start getting into reloading... Which i am planning to start doing shortly. I just want more shooting experience. I really don't thing there is a proper formats for purchasing a rifle. The only things I can think of is number one purpose, and two budget. Get the nest you cam afford. I ended up buying a Remington 700 adl. It had everything I needed to get started. I will admit the stocks are horrible but I can't complain for the price. 400 at dicks sporting goods. I have been able to shoot a 5 round group at 300 yes of 2". I know I just rambled a bit there I hope it helps. Purpose and budget is what I think it comes down too.

C.A.P.

I was wondering about everyone's process fro picking out a gun.

This is how I did it last time

1. Pick the bullet you would like to hunt with

2. Choose a velocity

3. Pick a cartridge and barrel length to achieve the desired velocity

4. Choose a barrel.

5. Choose a action

6. Choose stock, trigger etc.

7. Choose as scope (should be step 1. or 2.)

I actually ended up stopping at 3 and buying instead of building do to budget restraints.