pressure signs (updated with picture)

teampete

Hey all, well I just shot my new rifle and my first handloads ever!! Now I have questions on pressure signs. I have a 300wm and I loaded 210 berger vlds. Berger says max load is 75.5 grain of h1000 and start load is 71.5. Well I went from 71.5 to 75.5 in small increments. I noticed a small mark on the brass coming from the bolt face. This mark apperared at every powder charge. Is this a sign of excessive pressure?? I don't think so because it even occured at the starting load and I hear berger doesn't even publish real max values for there own sake. Please chime in

Last edited:
Re: pressure signs

A picture of mark would be nice. Were the rounds hard to chamber? Were they hard to extract? What did primer pocket look like? Sorry for so many questions but will help answer you questions.

No they were not hard to chamber or extract. I will try and post pics tonight. Primers looked ok I think but this is my first time doing this stuff so... I'm usind fed 215m primers if that makes any difference

Was the chamber degreased? Residual oil in the chamber will give the "impression" that there is high pressure.

Some brass such as Norma is softer than others and will mark easier.

reload.jpg

Here is th epicture guys. Sorry, this is the best picture I could get. One on left is start load of 71.5 and right is max load at 75.5. What do you all think?

From your picture you have a flattened primer acccompnird by an ejector mark. Typically a sign of high pressure. Since you mentioned that it occured early on, as you were increasing your powder charge there are a couple of things I would check:

Check your seating depth. Make sure your Bergers are not being pushed into the rifling, or just out too far. Try seating them .025-050" further into the case.

Double check you powder weight or scale and make sure it's accurate.