Powder choice: 260 Remington and 130 gr Accubonds

fireroad

Looking for guidance on powder selection for the 260 Remington using 130 gr Accubonds. I am using Norma brass and CCI BR2 primers loaded to M700 short action mag length and a 24" bbl. My research has shown that H4350 seems to be the go to powder, but it's one of the few that I don't have. My choices are H414, IMR4350, RL17, and H4831sc. I am trying to accurately achieve 2800 fps and only have time to mess with one powder this season. I'm leaning towards H414 but was hoping to hear about some experiences with all powders mentioned.

Disclaimer: I understand results may vary by rifle, always start with the minimum load, and no poster is responsible for the data they provide. I have 6 years reloading experience.

I have had quite a bit of experience loading my Model 7 Remington in 260 with a Hart barrel. My gun has a 1in 9 twist and it does not like the 130 Accubonds as well as it does some other bullets. My gun shoots the 120's extremely well.

However that did not keep my from trying to get it to shoot the 130 Accubonds. Since Nosler makes the bullets I followed their load data in Manual #6. They data shows that RL-19 is the most accurate powder with the 130 Accubonds. I have worked up loads with RL-19 from their listed starting loads up to max and slightly above. I know that you don't have RL-19, but from my experience it works great for velocity and if you have a 1in 8 twist you should get your gun shoot this powder accurately. As far as velocity is concerned I have gotten 2900 ft/sec with the 130 Accubonds. My gun has a 22 inch barrel.

I have also loaded H4350 using 129 Hornaday SP's, RL-17 using 120 Barnes TSX's and Hunter with 120 Nosler Bt. Right now I have this gun ready for a deer hunt loaded with 120 Nosler Bt and 44 grains of Hunter.