Over the Ear Hearing Protection

270Weatherby

I recently dropped my Pro Ears predator into some water and they are dead. The ear cups are the most comfortable I've felt and I prefer over the ear. Does anyone have advice for the best high quality electronic ear muffs? Used for Range, duck hunting, and big game.

I've been using the MSA Sordin Supreme Pro-X ear muffs for a couple years now and really like them. I ordered them with the gel pads and can wear them all day without any discomfort.

My 15+ year old Peltor Tactical 7 electronic ear muffs are about to die on me after many years of great service.

I'm really looking for 2 things in electronic ear muffs.

1. The highest noise reduction ratio (NRR) possible (30 or more)

2. The ability to crank up the sound amplification to high levels to compensate for my lousy hearing when I'm hunting.

Any ideas?

Last edited:
There are at least 2 models of Howard Leight electronic earmuffs and the one I'm now interested in is the "Howard Leight by Honeywell Impact Pro High Noise Reduction Rating Sound Amplification Electronic Shooting Earmuff for Indoor and Covered Ranges or Other Extremely Loud Shooting Environments (R-01902)"
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007BGSI5U/?tag=lrhmag19-20

These have an NRR of 30 which is very high for electronic muffs at least from what I've found but sound amplification is not good at all for the hunter wanting to hear better.

The Howard Leight Impact Sport muffs only have an NRR rating of 22 which is waaaaaay less if you've ever tried both in the same day.