optics set up for BP hunting

M_freeman

I am on the quest for the ultimate optics gear for backpack hunting, I am new to BP hunting so I am going through the learning curve. I hunt AZ and CA, high desert, the Sierras and foothills. I like the 8x binos because I can hand hold them and there are some nice light weight models. I like the idea of a good spotting scope so I can see into the detail in the brush a mile away. On the other hand when reducing weight you get smaller exit pupils in optics so low light performance suffers. So then is a 62mm-65mm spotter worth the weight vs the compacts? Another thing to consider is maybe going with really high quality 10x binos (save weight vs 15x ) w/tripod and magnification up to 20x on my rifle scope for counting tines, this could eliminate much of the need for a seperate spotting scope. Then there is the option of one optic besides the rifle scope, 15x binos and tripod. A guy can end up with a backpack full of optics and tripods if not careful. With all the experience you guys have, what have you found to be effective and efficient.

The Leica Douvids are a great option. 8x12x40 allows for low range hand holding at 8x and tripod use at 12x. Magneseum body makes for relatively light weight. Carry a light weight tripod such as the Outdoorsmans and a doubler or tripler and you are good to go. I sometimes carry a Leupold compact spotting scope as well but not any big, MM ones.

I've done a bit of backpack hunting and though there are a lot of great choices out there this is what I have found works best for me and where I am looking to upgrade.

Scope: Leupold VX3 2.5-8x36mm
Binos: 8x or 10x I have 8x and am always reaching for my buddies 10x. I am currently searching for a good 10x bino.