Once Fired Brass.....School Me on This;)

Ingwe

Yes, I am fairly new to reloading so I am hoping to get some knowledge from you guys here;)

I do understand what once fired brass IS but I'm not quite sure what the benefit is.

IS it more accurate than new brass because the once fired has taken on the dimensions of your particular chamber or is it a slight increase in powder capacity...or is it something else?

Furthermore, when you do have once fired brass, do you need to buy a custom die to maintain the dimensions?

Finally, you now have a mountain of once fired brass and you need a new barrel....what do you do with your brass?

Thanks SO MUCH FELLAS!

The once fired brass will match your chamber dimensions. The process is called fire forming. Some chamberings (wildcats) require the fire forming in order to change the shoulder angle, body taper etc. you always want to stay shy of max loads when fire forming.

It's more accurate because it's going to be much more consistent shot to shot compared to new brass.

If you have a lot of once fired brass and replace your barrel... assuming it's the same chambering, just fire it again, then you have fire formed brass to THAT exact chamber. But then it's technically twice fired brass. Watch the OAL and make sure your bumping the shoulder correctly and your good to go!

I'm sure others will chime in here with more info.

Once fired brass is just a start in my proces. I neck size with a collet die for two firings, then I set up a body die to set back .002" from the fireformed dimension. Once fired brass is desirable when purchasing used brass, other than that, it's not ready for me.

Funny thing, I've witnessed 1000mtr F-Class matches being won by a fair margin of X's with NEW UNFIRED BRASS. Sure it was fully prepped, annealed, flash hole de-burred, trimmed, neck sized correctly, necks turned and capacity sorted, but it was still UNFIRED.