OCW load development need advice for a newbie

Frogman77

Hey guys, Newbie here...

I started some load development today trying the OCW method and could use some advice and maybe some expert input.
Here's the info: Howa 1500 .30-06 22" heavy barrel 208gr Amax RL 22 CCI 200. All bullets seated .005" off the lands.

Here's the first target with the velocities listed under each target:(they're hard to read sorry...)

targets003-1.jpg

So, then I also noticed that on my hogue overmolded stock (not the greatest I know but it's what was available) that the barrel wasn't free floating up front. So I took the dremel out and just took some of the rubber out and now the barrel is totally free floating, no contact. In hind sight I probably should have waited till I was done load developing....oh well, I learn the hard way.

So from here, I decided to break it down some more and do loads in .3 gr increments from 58.5 to 60.3.

however, shooting conditions weren't the greatest, the sun was directly in front of me and in my eyes and it was extremely hard to see in the scope. I'm sure I should have waited for another time when the visibility was better, but anyway here's the second target. Temp was also 10 degrees higher and baro pressure was the same.

targets002-1.jpg

so, I'm stumped. The groups were definitely tighter on the original target then things opened up a lot on the second target (I did run a bore snake between the two). Was it the lighting conditions? Was it me screwing things up by getting rid of the barrel contact??? 58.5gr the first target held a great group, the second target 58.5gr was not great at all.

58.8gr yeilded the most consistent velocites on the second target with single digit ES.

later today I'm going to experiment with seating depths using the 58.8gr charge and the 59.7gr charge from the second target. Starting on the lands working back in .01" increments to .03" off the lands.

Anyone have any thoughts??? Any advice would be great. THanks!