Not sure if this would be appropriate for you guys...

Ian M

This is my current column in Western Sportsman - nice to see a magazine publish long range numbers - will be interesting to see if it creates any letters to the editor. There was minor editing, probably for space considerations but I am happy with the way it reads.

LONG RANGE HUNTING AS WE DO IT

"There are two just below that highest ridge to the south, one is feeding and one is bedded below the big clump of sage."
"Got them, how far out are they?"
"Bedded one is 696 and the feeder is 705. I am getting some mirage out there so will give you wind in a minute."

I studied the two mule deer, moving the focus inward a bit to accentuate the slight mirage that was running left to right. I watched as the wind died, the waves started to have a boiling appearance. Just in front of the bedded deer some tall yellow grass stems stood motionless. I could feel a slight breeze on my face and noted that the grass at our location was moving right to left. I did not bother checking with my electronic wind meter. Experience told me that we had about three miles per hour going almost full value (ninety degrees to the path of the bullet).

I would have to allow for a bit of drift as the bullet traveled at our end of its flight. "Give me a minute and one half of right wind. Go with twenty one and one quarter for elevation." Glen repeated, "One and one half right wind – twenty one and one quarter up" after he dialed the turrets.

"Let's take the bedded one first, you can only see the top half but we can do it. Tell me when you are ready." I said as I refocused the Nikon ED FieldScope on the far-off mule deer. "Shooter Ready." Said Glen, I could hear some intensity in his voice as he settled into his final aim. I checked that the mirage was still boiling – then said, "SEND IT". Seconds later the silence of the valley was disrupted by the report of Glen's .308 Winchester.