NM Elk @ 605 yards

RDM416

Last summer I got that notification that many of us are waiting for........ "successful" on your application for a elk tag! This was a tag for unit 21A in southern NM in the Gila.

I have been hunting and helping a friend with guiding for several years on a private ranch down there, but a tag in the National Forest is hard to draw. I was familiar with the area having hunted up to edge on the private ranch, but I had not had the opportunity to hunt the more mountainous terrain in the forest.

I almost did not make the trip as I got bit by a black widow spider and was pretty sick running a fever for 15 days....... the last day I had a fever was the day before we left for the hunt. Needless to say, I was not in the best of shape. Every time someone saw me they would say "you don't look good" or "you sure are pale".

For my rifle I took my 338 Kahn built on a Wby action by Kirby, the load was 300 grain Bergers running at 2875fps. The rifle has a Lilja barrel, Holland QD brake, A5 stock and has a NF NXS 8-32X56 sitting on top.

Two buddies came with me to help with the hunt and I could not have done it without them. As weak as I was from the spider bite it was really great having them along to help out..... they are pretty good company anyway:)

We camped on a 20 acre block of land I own that sits just inside the National Forest giving us exclusive access to a section of forest that is almost impossible to get to from any other direction. We were hiking about 4 miles from where we had to leave our wheeler to get to the area we were glassing from, and gaining about 2000 to 2500 feet of elevation as well.

This area is known for big bulls..... 350 class and above but we were not finding them. We were seeing quite a few smaller bulls, but the rut was over and the bulls were all solitary back in the thick stuff.