nightforce zero stop

CAM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
385
Location
Utah
Anybody know when this feature will be available? and do the guys that click to range think this is a good feature? looks like a good thing to me. is it worth waiting for?

THANKS CAM
 

JustC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2002
Messages
453
I was under the impression it was a Law Enforcement Only option.
 

Charles A

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
480
Location
tennessee
Brent, basicly its a steele insert that can you lock once you get your zero. So no matter what you always return to origanal zero. Unfortanly it is only available to police and millitary
, and from what I hear they have no plans to make a civillian version. Altough if you bugged'em enough, you never know.

Take care.
 

texas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
667
Location
North, Texas
It was avalible a few months back to the public, now we just have to wait and see if we can have it. Maybe you can get a LEO friend to order it for you!

How about it Chris you want to place an order for us
.
 

rlipson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2001
Messages
98
Guys,

Other than the new Nightforce option, which scope has the best "return to zero" markings for the target turrets? I missed a long range shot last year because I got confused at one point and instead of return to zero, I was 15 moa (one full revoloution) low. Since then I've been wanting a scope that would have a better way of knowing you're at the correct zero when dialing more than one full revoloution...

Thanks

Roger
 

FatBoy...

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
302
Location
Nashville, TN
Roger,

The is NO WAY to mess up your 100 yard zero on any of Leupolds M3 scopes. You may not like the 1MOA elevation and .5 moa windage, but it's dead on repeatable every time and it's physically impossible to be one revolution off.

For 1000 yard shooters these are great scopes. For these guys,,, the 55 moa turrets may be a limiting factor.

FatBoy...
 

Charles A

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
480
Location
tennessee
Roger, heres something we do sometimes. Measure the space from the bottem of your turret to the bottem of your turret post, with dial calipers. Then take a little piece of steele or tin dosent really matter as long as it wont bend or wear out, and cut it to your measurement, to make a shim. Take a hot glue gun, or you can use super glue but its a little harder to clean if you want to change, and put a little on your shim you made
and stick it in. When you want to change just pull it off. Hope this made since, if not let my know. Anyways just an idea.
 

rlipson

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2001
Messages
98
Charles,

Very nice. Would expand the number of scopes I'm considering if I used this fix. Thanks!

Roger
 

Brent

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2001
Messages
2,537
Location
Palmer, Alaska
Right now my Nightforce is zeroed on the 4th revolution, so the when the dial is on zero and on the line also I'm right on my 100 yd zero. I just count up from there when I go out farther. Mine always goes back to my 100yd zero by counting the revs and numbers back when I'm done at the range and is verified by the 40 moa line at the edge of the dial. It isn't that big of deal to me because I'm not shooting in the dark like some guys might need to and I am looking right at it so it's pretty easy to see when your one rev off on the barrel.
 

FatBoy...

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
302
Location
Nashville, TN
Brent,

you bring up a good point. I have my 100 yard zero for my non M3 rifle scopes recorded from bottom stop and right wind to zero. In a pinch,, I can just dial it down to stop and come back up, then dial right and come back to center.

FatBoy...
 

Trending threads

Recent Posts

Top