Nightforce illuminated Reticle

piutemike

My question is for those of you that have the illuminated reticle, is there a loss of target clarity in low light conditions? Do you see the reticle clearly, but it obscures the animal? Hope that makes sense. :confused:

I'm new to this and buying a new scope, I only want to buy one, not two, You know buy one I'm not gonna be happy with then buy another one.

50 or 56 MM, 3.5x15 or 5x22 want to hunt to 1000 minimum with practice, and shoot as far as I can learn to shoot. Scope is going on a stock Model 7 300SAUM.

Any Suggestions on Mounting hardware? I'm gonna shoot this gun till I wear out the barrel then get or build the gun I want @ that time. Should have a pretty good idea of what I need/want by then. BTW, this site is pretty nice. I live in a city of 400,000 and can't find this type of info here.

I have shot with the illumination on several times out to 700-1000 yards and the target is not impaired by the illuminated reticle. You may or not be able to see the target depending on how dark it is, but if you can see it you will certainly be able to put the cross-hair intersection on it nicely.

As for what model, I believe the optimum is the 3.5-15x50 with the NPR-2 reticle, suggest you wait until spring and get the much rumored Zero-stop elevation turret as they are the cat's-butt. Very simply that turret enables you to return to your original zero point perfectly every time.