Newbie reloading suggestions!

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by Punisher0822, Oct 30, 2018.

1. Punisher0822

Punisher0822 New Member

Newbie here! I’m wanting to get into the reloading game. I’ve read a lot of good things about the RCBS Rock Chucker kit. Can anyone make any suggestions on additions I need aside from the kit that will help me? I’m going into this totally blind. Thank you.

2. gohring3006

gohring3006 Well-Known Member

Case trimmer
    Stuck case remover
    Chronograph.

xsn10s, IDelkhunter and DCAN like this.
  3. DCAN

DCAN Well-Known Member

Purchase the book, " Top Grade Ammo" by Glen D. Zediker. Do what he says to do. You won't be wrong. It will save you a ton of money and mental grief.

Wlfdg likes this.
  4. Dosh

Dosh Well-Known Member

This kit is a nice start, but avoid the kit with the electronic scale. The beam scale will serve you well. No kit has everything, you will need a few more tools. You'll also find yourself buying more reloading tools as you learn the finer points of reloading. Good luck

.gacton and just country like this.
  5. dok7mm

dok7mm Well-Known Member

Hornady OAL gauge + their bullet and case comparators for your calibers.

6. rfurman24

rfurman24 Well-Known Member

You are going to get numerous different opinions on which way to go. I started off with a kit and used it for about 1 week before upgrading all but the press. Are you going to be doing volume reloading? Be honest with yourself. What is your budget? I would recommend buying a Rock Chucker, Chargemaster lite, and a Priming tool and add as you go. A RCBS Case Master is nice but the hand tools will work. I shoot a lot and the hand tools just add too much time for me. If my suggestion is outside of your budget the kit will work but it will be relatively slow.

Last edited: Oct 31, 2018
    dok7mm likes this.
  7. CJS-6.5

CJS-6.5 Member

This. And pick up a hand primer. And a electric powder measure. And and and...

claybreaker likes this.