Newbie looking for help

bcarpe1

I am new to long range shooting/hunting and am looking for some advice as to how to get started. I live out west and rarely do I have a situation where I take a shot less than 150-200 yds. In fact, I have not fired my rifle at an animal in 5 yrs because I am not comfortable taking a shot beyond 250 with my current setup.

Here is what I am thinking;

Savage 11 FCNS 300WSM- A couple of reasons, seems like Savage has the quality as a factory rifle, the 300WSM should give me plenty of knock down power out to 500 yrds and beyond when I am ready and the recoil of the 300WSM seems tolerable.

Scope- I am looking at the SWFA SS 10x42 Tactical. This seems like a good starting out scope on a budget.

Factory Loads-Any advice on factory loads? I currently shoot Nosler and like them a lot. I know hand loading is the way to go but I at the moment I just don't have the time to invest. I am very excited to learn this aspect of long range shooting.

My plan is to start shooting at a max range of 500 yds and go from there. Based on what I have mentioned above, do you think this allow me to get started? I'd like to have a rifle I can continue to improve with and still give me knock down power for deer and elk beyond 500 yds when I am ready. Seems like the 300WSM will allow for this.

Thanks for taking the time to read and respond to this newbie.

If money is a concern, which it is for most of us. I would look along the lines of a readily available ammo like 308 or 30-06 because they tend to be less expensive in a factory load. This is by no means a fact just my opinion, others may have a different point of view.