Newbie here...

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by HillCountry54, Oct 19, 2004.

1. HillCountry54

HillCountry54 Member

All,
    I am new here and to long range hunting. I have several questions that cannot be addressed in 1 thread. But to start,
    I just bought a Remington model 700, Sendero SF, 7mm RUM. I am almost done sighting it in @ 300yrds. My main ques is this, how accurate should I expect this gun to be with factory loads? I read some threads talking about 1/3" @ 300yrds. Thats a group!!!
    Is that even possible with my gun?
    Thansk in advance for all the help.

2. Shark Bait

Shark Bait Member

Hey Hill Country! This is Dave from Austin. I have a M700 in plain old blued Sendero in .25-06 that will consistently shoot under 1" @100 yards with std. factory ammo. My handloads are running in the .2's @100 yards. I have done absolutely no work to this gun at all, not even trigger. I understand as with any rifle that it is luck of the draw. Fortunately my experience has been excellent. [​IMG]

3. HillCountry54

HillCountry54 Member

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR> Hey Hill Country! This is Dave from Austin. I have a M700 in plain old blued Sendero in .25-06 that will consistently shoot under 1" @100 yards with std. factory ammo. My handloads are running in the .2's @100 yards. I have done absolutely no work to this gun at all, not even trigger. I understand as with any rifle that it is luck of the draw. Fortunately my experience has been excellent <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm at work in Austin right now, but I live in Wimberley. Thanks, I hope to go finish sighting my gun in soon and will post my results. However I am not the best shot, and I am just shooting off a harris bi-pod.
    We'll see... [​IMG]

4. Shark Bait

Shark Bait Member