Newb question: No case lube on seating bullets

SLCscottie

I am new to reloading and did not use case lube while seating the first 4 bullets into the brass case. I noticed two seemed to take more force with the press and had a slight abrasion or rough spot at the seam at the mouth of the case. (308 Win) I used steel wool to smooth the abrasion of the case. Now is there any risk in firing these two rounds or the other ones that did not have case lube?

I am new to reloading and did not use case lube while seating the first 4 bullets into the brass case. I noticed two seemed to take more force with the press and had a slight abrasion or rough spot at the seam at the mouth of the case. (308 Win) I used steel wool to smooth the abrasion of the case. Now is there any risk in firing these two rounds or the other ones that did not have case lube?

Never heard of using any wet?, case lube seating bullets. mabey a little dry graphite powder but not the same lube you use when you fl resize the outside of the case. Make sure you have debured inside and outside the neck before seating. But to answer your question , No it will not hurt to shoot them

hello,there is no need for jacked bullets to be lubed.only when useing lead only bullets.also what die did you use?a full length shouldn't have given you any trouble,but a neck might depending on the make [ bushing type ].and did you chamfer the inside of the necks.and never lube the neck area unless you use grafite or molly.just stabbing in the dark but alot of lube can make a resized case to be sived alittle different.check these things out and let use know.

Last edited:
Never heard of using any wet?, case lube seating bullets. mabey a little dry graphite powder but not the same lube you use when you fl resize the outside of the case. Make sure you have debured inside and outside the neck before seating. But to answer your question , No it will not hurt to shoot them