New to reloading with a question on 6.5 Creedmoor.

tinnmann94

I started reloading and I'm trying to find the lands on my rifle. I have been shooting factory 140 grain eld match and have had luck. The rifle is a Bergara ridge back Premier. The factory ammo has a o.c.l of 2.800 and Measurements I'm coming up with is 2.595 to 2.610 to the lands on my rifle . This seems really short to me. Thoughts ? I also have Measured this three different ways. Maybe I'm over thinking this cause I'm new to this.

Break it down for us, exactly what you're doing. There's probably one step in the process that's throwing you for a loop. Could just be comparing apples and oranges, or one detail you're missing. Even if you are overthinking it that's ok, that's how I live my life. We'll get you there 👍

1. What tool are you using to measure distance the lands with?
    1. Are you pushing hard enough to get a hard stop and marks on the bullet?
  2. What are you measuring BTO with?
    1. What is the BTO if a factory round with OAL of 2.800"?
  3. What are you measuring and what with when you're getting 2.595-2.610? Is this COL or BTO?

COL or COAL - Cartridge Overall Length - primer to bullet tip
BTO - Base to ogive - Primer to ~one caliber diameter on the bullet

I used 3 ways to check this. First I used the Hornady lands tool and the the old fashioned way with breaking down the bolt and making a dummy round till the bolt drops freely and finally marking a bullet with marker to see where the lands is. They were all pretty close. The measurement is over all cartridge length. The bto of the factory round is 2.177. And I believe I'm pushing hard enough with the tool.

Using the Hornady tool I have had some trouble getting repeatable measurements, mainly bc it is hard to replicate the pressure on the bullet when pushing it out of the case in the chamber.