New to reloading .223 Questions?? Help??

Jamie557

I hope someone can answer my reloading questions. Thanks in advance!!!

I am new to reloading. I started loading .223 remington for my bolt action Mossberg MVP rifle as I figured .223 would be a great starting bullet to learn from. I am limited on how far I can seat the bullet because the rifle uses a magazine.

Currently I am using this load:
.223 brass is mostly Hornady with a few American eagle. All shot once in the rifle I am reloading for. It's loaded with 55 grain Vmax bullets (#22271) using Federal match primers with Winchester 748 powder.

Case trim length 1.750 C.O.L. 2.235 Ogive 2.797 with Sinclair Comparator

Now that you know about my loads my questions are concerning how to work up a load and what is safe. I have two reloading books. They both have different data.

Lyman says 55 grain bullet with W748 powder you can go 25.0 to 27.8 grains.
Hornady says 55 grain bullet with W748 powder you can go 22.7 to 26.4 grains.

I started off with 23.5, 24.0 24.5,25.5 grains of powder to test. None notably outperformed the others. I then loaded 25.5, 26.0 and 26.5 grains to test next. The 26.5 grouped the best. My chrono speed was High 3099, Low 3042 with Average of 3051 out of 20 rounds I tested. My best group was .58 inch. My chrono reads plain hornady factory 55 grain bullets at an average of 3056. So I am just below the average speed of my factory ammo.

A friend of mine who reloads a lot and has been doing it for 25 years suggested that I load some 26.5, 27.0 and 27.5 grains to continue to ladder test. Then if 26.5 was still the best to test a couple rounds with a 26.3, 26.4 and 26.6, 26.7 grains just to see if the group tightens anymore.