New to ML hunting

IndianaMatt

As I apply for tags I keep thinking that I should be applying for ML tags as well.
I have never owned or shot a ML and have no idea what to get or use. I located a NIB old style 700 ML in a gun shop a month or 2 ago but it vanished before I could pull the trigger.
So with y'alls help I'd like to know where to start. Very green when it comes to this ML thing so easier would be better.

Thanks

458D9CF9-63AE-4DAF-8ECF-8E3BEAE64618.jpeg My boys and I have been shooting CVA Accura's for a few years and had great luck with them. I killed a 325" bull with mine this year, had a blast.
I would stay away from the old remington ML, there are better ML out there.

Just buy a CVA optima, some triple seven, 209 primers and some 245gr Powerbeats and call it good. Mines good to 150 yards with the the target globe sight I put on it. (Can't have scopes on muzzleloaders in CO) Should be able to get everything except a scope if you're gonna scope it for under $500

I have had Remington 700's .CVA'S and T/C'S inline's. but I love hunting with a old flint lock or a cap lock.This is the small seven point I got with my 50 cap lock

Attachments

• hunting 045.jpg
    hunting 045.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 162
Last edited:
I went to Colorado 20+ years ago on an elk/deer hunt with 12 friends.
We all bought new guns just for that hunt. I was young and broke, so I bought a Cabelas Red River rifle for, I think, $99 and that thing out shot about every rifle that anyone else bought! It is a Hawkin type rifle. Nothing fancy, obviously, and has a 1/48" barrel.
Some of those guys bought 700's, one bought a Cabelas Rolling Block, I can't remember what anyone else bought.
The thing that amazed me was how that rifle would shoot anything- round balls, Maxiballs, sabots- it didn't matter it shot them all really well.