New savge high country 280AI won't fire

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by vino, Oct 16, 2019.


Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:


  1. vino

    vino Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    I haven't posted in a long time just lurking in the shadows.
    I recently bought a new savage 110high contry in 280AI toped it with a leupold VX5HD took it out to sight it in and the dam thing won't shot.
    The firing pin appears to be dropping but no strike on primer and I bought more facotry ammo with same results .
    I can finally get it to shoot with 20 to 30 bolt cycles and when it dose fire it's a suprise!! " so the group sucks"
    How and the hell can or do they send a new rifle not functioning properly??
    From my research on line it's the stupid accutrugger system? Tia
     
  2. CVCOBRA1

    CVCOBRA1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    401
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Take your bolt apart and clean it real well. The firing pin spring is most likely all gummed up from factory grease.
     
  3. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    197
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    It more than likely is the accutrigger system. It might be the accu portion going off before the trigger. That was happening to my LWH a couple years back in a .260 Rem. It can happen when the trigger is adjusted too light or if you pull the trigger without the accu portion. It feels different, the center blade part sticks out further when it doesn’t drop the firing pin if I remember correctly. I missed out on a great deer on my hunt when it just clicked and he was gone before I could recock and pull the trigger again.

    Next day I had a buck broadside and squeezed it of.... click wtf, recocked and click, recocked and click. Thought son of a gun! Recocked and yanked the crap out of the trigger and finally boom! He was stumbling around so went for a security shot and click! He dropped right then anyways though. After that I was done with that trigger, I pulled the accu blade part out and now it is one sweet crisp trigger that never fails. Be careful though because it lightens it up a lot without the extra tension from the blade so I had to adjust it most of the way up but it sits a little over 2 lbs and very crisp.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. shortgrass

    shortgrass Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,414
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    If it's a new rifle, call Savage!
     
    wbm and squeeeeze like this.
  5. squeeeeze

    squeeeeze Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    197
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    They will take care of you. They wound up sending me a new trigger system for me to replace mine, I just didn’t have any confidence left knowing what could happen. Plus I liked the way it felt w/o the accu portion better.

    I never had any issues with my Savage LRH though unless I intentially pulled just the trigger on the side without the blade.
     
  6. shortgrass

    shortgrass Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,414
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    The Savage Accu-Trigger is a cheap piece of junk, designed as a low cost way to satisfy the masses. I've got a coffee can nearly full of 'take-offs' that their owners just couldn't put up with anymore because it became unreliable or just plane would not longer work.
     
  7. Mram10us

    Mram10us Well-Known Member LRH Team Member

    Messages:
    927
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    I’ve only owned 3 savage accutriggers but liked mine. Seemed to function fine
     
  8. Ndfarmer

    Ndfarmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    I agree it sounds like the accutrigger. Make sure you are pushing the blade in. If still not working call savage or install aftermarket trigger. I like rifle basics 2 triggers for the money.
     
  9. orchemo

    orchemo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    372
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    My first Savage had an accu-trigger. It was a bull barrel 308. First time to the range, was all excited to see my fine shooting skills.

    loaded a cartridge, pulled the trigger and nothing......tried repeatedly with no results.

    Having been a Remington person, it was not until I got home, that I realized Savage's have a 3 position safety. Was pushing the safety to the center click so the bolt would cycle, just not pushing it all the way to fire.

    The days of not having smart phone nor smart senses.

    I do like the look of the High Country 280AI. Let us know what the outcome is.
     
  10. Gord0

    Gord0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    735
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    It sounds like, as others have said, that you are having an issue with the center blade of the accutrigger. If your finger is off to the side of the blade a little bit and you don't have it fully depressed but still squeeze the trigger you will trip the seat, but it will catch on the safety blade. You need to make sure you are pulling straight back on the trigger. If it is still happening after that, then I would give Savage a call.
     
  11. grouse

    grouse Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,208
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    A lot of guys Take the blade out.
    Are you shooting 280ai ammo or the new nosler variant?
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  12. wbm

    wbm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    635
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Don't be dumb. Take the good advice....let Savage fix it!
     
  13. bocajnala

    bocajnala Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    New rifle. Let Savage fix it..

    -Jake