New rifle modification suggestions

Shooter Fred

Hello all,

I am a new poster to this site but have been spying for quite some time. I really think most people on this site have some very good opinions.

I was wondering if everyone could make a few suggestions on what is needed to make my brand new Remington Sendero SF II 300 RUM a long range shooter as I am new to this type of shooting. I already have a seekins 20 moa rail and rings along with the new viper pst ffp 4-16 scope by vortex.

I am open to all suggestions but don't want to spend over 500-600 on the changes. If it helps, I think I will be reloading my own ammo as I have been told this is one of the best things I can do to improve the accuracy of the gun.

Thanks for your help!

-Fred

I would definitely spend the money on reloading equipment and a good reloading manual. Do lots of reading before you dive in. Reloading can be dangerous if you don't know what you are doing.

I have the same rifle you do. Mine is top off with a vortec Razor. I put a break on and a new jewell trigger but your rifle might have the self adjusting Mark X trigger. Mine did not have the mark X trigger because of the year i bought it.The break made a big different in shooting it. recoil is down about 50%. It is fun to shoot now but loud.

You should get the action fully glass bedded (yes I know it has an aluminum block) with a lot of bedding around the recoil lug, second a Vias or equal muzzle brake with atleast 5/8 threads, 1/2" is to small for a 30 cal, lastly xmark trigger or not put a jewell on it unless you can safely get the trigger down to 24ozs or so which is unlikely. Reloading is definently a plus. Good luck!

Thank you all...I appreciate the recommendations.

I am looking at a muzzle break, trigger work and bedding the action. What does it mean to lap locking lugs?

Any other suggestions are welcome. Thanks again!

-Fred