New Mexico Unit 18 Pronghorn

nimrod_gn

Just found out I drew a rifle tag for Unit 18 New Mexico pronghorn for August 2019. Anybody hunted this area and can provide tips on where to find animals on public land in this unit?

Hello, are you a New Mexico resident? I am and have harvested a couple of nice bucks out of that unit.

Just found out I drew a rifle tag for Unit 18 New Mexico pronghorn for August 2019. Anybody hunted this area and can provide tips on where to find animals on public land in this unit?
Are you going to be able to stalk a long distance?

I'm a Utah resident. I hunted oryx on the White Sands middle range 12 years ago as the only other time to hunt NM. Yes I can stalk as needed and shoot long if needed too. Wondering what part of unit to focus on and any other tips. Thx

I'm a Utah resident. I hunted oryx on the White Sands middle range 12 years ago as the only other time to hunt NM. Yes I can stalk as needed and shoot long if needed too. Wondering what part of unit to focus on and any other tips. Thx
I had good luck with the first buck in the Southeast corner, close to hey 55 and hwy 54 intersection. Travel northwest from there and park spot and stalk. Took a nice 17 inch with my longbow after a 4 hour stalk.
There used to be a public road off of hwy 60 east of the valley of fire that took you through private land and onto public land about 7 miles traveling southeast. Lots of lava to walk over but there are monsters hanging around in the pockets of lava rock. Took a 16 inch one at 400 yards with my 7mm mag there but spotted at least 15 17 + inch monsters while carrying him out of there. I was on leave and took the first legal buck I saw on that hunt. It is a very good unit! Lots of them travel back and forth from the misleading range so they don't get or didn't get a lot of hunting pressure. It has been 10 years since I hunted that area so I cannot guarantee that dirt road is still open to the public.