New Manitoba member

Carsyn.22

Hello from Manitoba, thanks for having me! for now I'm here to listen and learn!
I work as a general carpenter, I'm married no kids yet, 26 years old, been hunting since I was 13, reloading since 20, but only loaded 30-30 win until recently I acquired a 6.5x55 swede Husqvarna M96 dated 1942 and would like to use it as a hunting rifle with a bit more reach than the old 30wcf! These are cheap enough here in Manitoba and my funds are quite limited, so for now I must be content with this rifle and the vortex crossfire II that I got for it!
Carsyn

Welcome to the site, you have found a great bunch of guys! The knowledge these guys have and share will be a great resource to you. I am amazed by the information I read everyday. As far as your selection of rifles , take care of what you have and you will upgrade as circumstances allow! Enjoy the journey !

Be careful reloading your rifle,,, make sure you find out if the action is the low or high CUP / PSI pressure...

65.000 psi tested actions if I recall,,, 55.000 ish CUP when tested back in the day...

If you reload,,, start off with the old reloading data and burn rate powder for that action...

Inspect the brass after shooting to make sure it doesn't have excessive heat space,,, better to be ahead of the game plan...

Pal Don North of the 49th

Don what part of Canada are you from? Any relation of Mr. Weldon Parsons? I believe he has since passed on but we met him in Saskatoon about 11 years ago at a farmers market stand, my Dad had the stand beside him, and he befriended me and my brothers, we sat and soaked up the stories of his guiding and trapping days, he also gave us an autographed book which I read more times than I can count!