New in Salmon, Idaho

djbeek

Wow! I'm sure late getting the long range bug. I had a number of elk in the 500-700 yard range this year, but I was carrying my 375 ruger alaskan, a rifle that I really love but at 500 yards your talking roughly 50 inches of kentucky hold over so they walked. It was really hot and dry during the elk season this year and by the time they poked their heads out of the timber there wasn't much time to get on them. The day after the season closed it started to get cold and has been snowing ever since. Anyway it sure is awsome having this kind of resource to help figure it all out. I found a savage 111 in 300 ultra the other day for a base gun to start with and now the fun begins.

Former Salmonite here. In Boise now but hope to be moving back to Salmon in early fall '11. Can't wait to get back to my home hunting grounds. Shot my deer up there this year though let's see if you can name the location from this pic.:D

fall10013.jpg

Hello,

I'm new to Salmon also but it kind of looks like looking north from somewhere around Williams creek. I didn't even get a deer this last season. We moved here from Montana and I've got to get a handle on Idaho's regulations. It's a bit more limited than what I was used to. I didn't even think about deer till mid-November. Anyway, it's nice to meet you.

Darryl

Yeah I'm not sure I'll stick with the 300 ultra but I wanted something with a magazine box that would hold the longest possible cartridge and the fact that it is easier to change barrels is handy.

Hello,

I'm new to Salmon also but it kind of looks like looking north from somewhere around Williams creek. I didn't even get a deer this last season. We moved here from Montana and I've got to get a handle on Idaho's regulations. It's a bit more limited than what I was used to. I didn't even think about deer till mid-November. Anyway, it's nice to meet you.

Darryl