New hunter with scope questions

huntoregon

Hey guys I am fairly new to hunting and would like to get some opinions or ideas on what you would recommend for a scope style or maybe just a method of shooting.

Last spring I bought an out of the box Weatherby Vanguard 2 in 300WM and put a Leupold VX2 4-12x40 with a basic duplex reticle on it for a scope and zeroed it at 100 yards. This past weekend I went elk hunting and got on a group of elk with a couple of bulls but they were at 500 yards and I have never shot that far so I didn't feel comfortable trying to take one.

That being said I don't know if I would ever be comfortable shooting that distance with this scope just due to the fact it seems like you would just be guessing at elevation. Is there a method of practice I can do to get confident at shooting 300,400,500 yards? It seems I would need a scope with at least some type of holdover reticle, or are most guys going with scopes with the turret elevation adjustment?

Sorry for the newbie questions, this hunting stuff is addicting and I don't want to have to pass up more shots.

One option would be to send your scope in to Leupold and have a CDS turret installed. This costs under $100 and will give you a nice low-profile exposed elevation turret. I had this done to a VX-3 a while back and was very pleased with it. Of course there are plenty of scopes out there with ballistic reticles and/or target turrets that would work as well.

Practice practice practice is your best bet method above anything else. That will help build your confidence. The 300 WM is way more than capable of a 400-500 yard shot on an elk.

Only if yours is a first focal plane scope would it be wise to use hold over's via the reticle hash marks.

The easiest thing to do for your current scope is what was already mentioned above; get an uncapped quick turret installed. See if they can make a feature for the turret to stop on your desired zero distance when clicking back down.

Last edited: