New Guy, New build, couple of questions

Jeffrthehunter

First a quick thank you to the forum members, lots of great information here that seems to have got me in the right direction.
I little about me. I have hunted Oregon, Washington, California, Wyoming, Idaho and Montana. Lots of rifle kills with a couple at the 450 yard range. Machinist by trade but my gunsmith skills and reloading skills are intermediate at best.
Just purchased the following gear to put a long distance hunting gun together, trying to get to at least the 800 yard range, I do understand I need lots of practice (my gun club has a 600 yard range).
I have purchased the following: Remington 700 5R Gen 2 in .300 Win Mag, Leupold VX6 4-24 X 52mm (34MM tube, T-MOA retical) with Mark 4 rings, Gen II Little Bastard Brake, Timney 510 trigger.

So here are a couple questions I am hoping someone may have the answers to.

The only Mark 4 rings available in 34mm are the "high" model. When I use a Talley one piece 20 MOA base there is close to a half inch of barrel to scope clearance (way to high in my opinion). Looks like all one piece bases are built thicker for shell clearance (i am guessing). What are my options? Is there a thin built one or two piece base with at least 10 MOA that will work? I can not return the rings so I am hoping a different base will be the fix.

After looking at many threads and videos it looks like the number one bullet for long range in the 30 cal is the VDL 215 grain. I am a little worried about recoil, should I start with a lighter round or just jump in with both feet shooting the VDL?

Can i put the "X" Mark Pro trigger that I remove from my new rifle onto an older Remington 700 SS?

Thank you for reading this thread, any information would be greatly appreciated.

First a quick thank you to the forum members, lots of great information here that seems to have got me in the right direction.