New cartridge ?

Surely someone knows something more about this purposed cartridge.

I am curious about the bullet diameter (Between 6.5 and 277) and the
type of bullet. Pressure is easy they just have to build the weapon to take it.

I also don't understand why they would invent a totally new bore diameter instead of just designing a bullet for the intended service.

It may fall on it's face, but it is interesting.

J E CUSTOM

Yeah I wound's hold my breath for it.

Not interested in getting one, and don't know if it will ever happen. Just always interested in new innovations. The military is always doing something different and illogical. Being a vet, I have seen some of these blunders and just hoped someone would have an insight to what and when this wood be.

J E CUSTOM

I read somewhere that they thought it was a 6.8mm round. Then I also heard it's a 6.5mm round from a different source so who knows. I'd like to know more on this round as well

From my understanding the caliber will be either 6.5 or 6.8-- when the youtube video says "between 6.5 and 6.8" I I took it a a choice of one of those calibers not a caliber in between those two.
From my sources, this firearm will never be available to civilians, to get to those pressures it will not use conventional brass cases (it may very well be "CT or CL ammo")--- also i was told they will not use conventional smokeless powder as a propellant but some thing more along the lines of a solid explosive agent. Most likely have several variants of projectiles to include AP, incendiary, and explosive tipped.
This info comes from an friend in the firearms and ammunition industry not the military--- but it's all in design/testing and nothing is set yet, it may never become "reality" depending on how things go. Tround 50 had different prototypes years ago.