Need some help on choices M1, M2 or Cds dials for leupold?

buckand bull

Hello All, ok I am a newbie to the long range thing and I dont want to waste money on the wrong equipment. I am confused on which product to go with the M1, M2, or Cds dials for either just elevation or both windage and elevation?

I am shooting a 300 win mag floated barrel, 2.5 pound trigger, 180 grain hornady sst. The scope I am buying is the 4.5 14x40mm Long range side focus duplex leupold. I want to be able to practice and shoot out to 600 yards.

I was thinking the cds but the only issue is I would have to get them for my home state to practice, then every other state I will be hunting. I do want something that is pretty easy for a beginner though. I have also heard a lot of guys dont mess with getting a windage M1, CDS turret. Is that a good idea because how do u compensate the wind if needed?

Anyways what do you guys think is best?

I know if anybody knows its all the folks on this site

Thanks in advance!!

Buck
I have several Leupold scopes all have been modified by the custom shop one way or another
I would get the scope with the BC reticle in it and then have the cds turret installed.
If you order it with standard moa marks it will be just like the M1 just shorter
if you do not ever plan on shooting past 700-800 yards order it with a zero stop with one turn you should be able to get somewhere between 700-800 yards.
If you plan to go further have them leave the stop out.
As far a changing location/alt ect get a good ballistic software to work your drop chart and just print out new ones for where you are going
works preety good
retiredcpo

retiredcpo,
That is what I looked and here is probably a silly question, but if you have the BC reticle dont you just use the hash marks for different ranges(holdover) or is there marks for windage? If so would the cds dial be for windage or is it for elevation and do you make the adjustment for the yardage and use the coordinating hash mark?