Need some advice on new barrel

MHO

I have a Sako 75 300 WSM that I have sent off to have a new barrel put on it. I have been shooting 180 gr NBT. I have very little knowledge on twist / length etc. What twist and manufacturer of barrel do you guys recommend and have experience with? Krieger, Douglas etc. Appreciate any feedback.

10 twist is probably ideal (180's,190's,210's) lots of great barrels-Broughton, Brux, Chanlynn, Benchmark, Hart, Lilja, the ones you mentioned and many more. Ask your smith what he likes and stands behind.

I think a 1:10 inch twist is way too fast for 180's out of a .300 WSM. Back when 30 caliber magnums were "the only way to go" for long range competition, 1:12 twist barrels were the best for 190 and 200 grain bullets. Spinning bullets too fast is one sure way to get fliers way out of your group when a bullet's unbalance is above average. 1:10 twists are for 220-gr. bullets from that cartridge.

I had a worn out Palma rifle barrel's back end cut off to make it 27 inches long then rechambered for .300 Win. Mag. It's 1:13 inch twist shot Sierra 180-gr. HPMK's into 2/3 MOA at 1000 yards with ease. Those bullets spun about 171,000 rpm leaving the barrel; just about perfect for that bullet.

If you'll only shoot 180's, a 1:13 (or maybe a 1:12, for milder loads) twist's hard to beat from a .300 WSM.

I think a 1:10 inch twist is way too fast for 180's out of a .300 WSM. Back when 30 caliber magnums were "the only way to go" for long range competition, 1:12 twist barrels were the best for 190 and 200 grain bullets. Spinning bullets too fast is one sure way to get fliers way out of your group when a bullet's unbalance is above average. 1:10 twists are for 220-gr. bullets from that cartridge.