Need help shimming scope bases

Just got back from the range with my new rig. It's a 300 Winmag set up as a light weight walking rig with long range capabilities. Optics are a Leupold 3.5-10 VXIII w/turrets in Talley LW's. Problem is this: sighted in for a 200 yard zero, I've only got 4/5's of a complete turn in elevation left...so I know I've got to shim the rear base. I've never done it before, though have some inkling how to do it. Questions are this:

1) I've got two complete turns of down left in the turret. Approx what thickness do I need to shim the rear base to recover those turns?

2) Is it necessary to lap the rings after shimming? Wondering if the resultant offset will induce unkind stresses into the scope tube?

Thanks in advance for help from those that have BT/DT.

I do not recommend shimming it can add problems. I also recommend get a base that has MOA.

Mike @ CSGW

Forgive my ignorance, but where is the best place to get a lightweight set of rings w/moa built in? Also, since I'm losing approx 24 minutes in revolutions, I'm guessing that I'll be looking for a 20 moa base? Do they do this w/two piece bases or is this one piece only? This is all new to me, so thanks for the help.

Last edited:
From one of my old posts but I do not remember if it was a short action of long action being discussed:

You will need 0.00138 inches of shim thickness for each MOA .

So for 20 MOA of cant you will need 0.028 inches of shim.

Soda cans are thinner than beer cans. Cheap beer like Keystone and Bud has thinner cans than better tasting beer. Think about it. Kinda makes sense doesn't it.