Need help picking a barrel

BlueDolphin

I am new to longrange shooting. I am building a rifle from a 700BDL 7mm Win Mag.

I wanted some advice on what barrel(s) to look at?

I wanted something in the 1.25 diam heavy, w likely a 10" twist. But alas I am not sure due to my newbyizm.

Any input is greatly appreciated. What barrel and where to go to get it is what I need.

Thanks!

Whats a 700 Win Mag??
Do you mean 300 Win Mag??
What is your intended use of the rifle you want to build??

Sry bout that..... I fixed er up. Its a bit late and I fudged the post. It is a 7mm mag..

The rifle will be used mostly for target shooting. I would like to try to make it so that it COULD be used hunting on rare occasion, if I find a buddy to spot, and progress enough to get into the long range hunting.

Weight should not be an issue. I expect this beast to be one heavy mutha.

There are plenty of great barrel makers around. Lilja and Broughton are very popular and high quality.
I'm sure you will get some good input from the smiths here on what brands to look at and how to go about getting them.

Thanks for all the help.

Now when I order a barrel... I assume I need to take the rifle and the barrel in to a local gunsmith....? And is there anything I need to look out for? Or any special things I need to have machined into the barrel? Any little secrets I guess is what I mean. I was thinking of putting a compensator on the end of the barrel. Is it best to have the compensator screw in? Or better to have it machined into the barrel? It looks like most barrel makers leave an inch or so at the end of the barrel when they ship. Does the gunsmith take care of the compensator on the barrel?

Pretend like I am Czechoslovakia with very little knowledge of the English language here. I really need some guidance.
I want to have a barrel made that I can be proud of /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

Thanks again for all the help.