Need help on a custom build

Porter

Hey everyone,
I have an old Remington 700 243 that I am thinking about using as my first gun to do a custom build on. This will be a drawn out project since I have no experience and will be crawling my way through this. lol
The truth is, I don't know where to start. I want to change the barrel, stock and trigger. What tools will I need? My goal is to build a .5 MOA shooter out of it. You guys know of any books or DVDs that could help me with this? I need some help getting started in the right direction.
Thanks for all your time and help.
Porter gun)

Will you be doing the build yourself? Unless you are a machinest the re-barreling should be done by a gunsmith. The stockwork and the trigger replacement can be done by you if you are handy with tools.

MidwayUSA has a online Knowledge center for the do-it-yourself gunsmith, and is the best place I know to get you going in the right direction.

The Cool thing about a Remington 700 action is that it is so easily accurized and when everything is done correctly, they are capable of extreme accuracy.

Hope this helps

Dan

you don't say what caliber. have a good gunsmith install a krieger barrel ; heaviest contour you can live with and fit into your stock of choice. match good bullet to the correct twist. your big groups wil .5. i have 1 jewel and 4 shlens. i like shilen better and they are les$$. i did not install them.

Thanks for the help. I am planning on going with the 260 Remington. Anyone have any recommendations for this? (Barrels, stocks, triggers)? I am interested in all opinions. Thanks again.
gun)