Need advice on choosing first Rifle

superdave24

I am new to this sport and am looking to purchase my first hunting rifle. I want to purchase a rifle that I can not only hunt with but utilized year round and learn how to shoot long distances. What do I start with?
I have been told to buy a Remington 700 7mm-08. What about a .270 or .308? Regular barrel, bull barrel? 22" or 26"? Any thoughts / suggestions? Open to anything because all of this is a bit overwhelming.

Remington 700 SPS Tactical 20" .308 Win (catalog # 84207) would make a great rifle for a beginner. The .308 Win caliber is a great caliber, and the .308 barrel will last virtually forever.

Remington 700 SPS Tactical 308win $622.00 SHIPS FREE

I would definitely not skimp on getting a good scope. I would recommend the Vortex Viper scope.

Vortex Viper HS Long Range Rifle Scope 30mm Tube 4-16x 50mm Side Focus

With some low height 30mm Vortex/Seekins Precision rings...

Vortex Precision Matched Picatinny-Style Rings Matte

And an EGW HD base...

EGW 1-Piece Heavy Duty Picatinny-Style Base Remington 700

This would make a nice shooting setup for a beginner, and also for someone who was an intermediate to advanced shooter, as well. In other words "buy once, cry once", and this rifle/scope combo will grow with your skill level.

weight is an advantage shooting targets and long range. a rem 700 long range, rem sendero, rem 40x, savage lrp, sako heavy barrel 85. if you can hit an f-class target X-ring you can hit a deer.

Remington 700 SPS Tactical 20" .308 Win (catalog # 84207) would make a great rifle for a beginner. The .308 Win caliber is a great caliber, and the .308 barrel will last virtually forever.

+1. Great caliber to start with.