Need advice - Backpack upgrade

wilkup

I'm planning to upgrade my hunting pack and hopefully utilize a Black Friday sale to save a little money.
I've got buddies that swear by their Kifaru, Kuiu Pros, Mystery Ranch (which I have) and Exos.
I used an Eberlestock F1 Mainframe with various attachments for a few years before I graduated myself to a Mystery Ranch. Both of these are quite heavy systems and I'm looking to cut a lot of weight.
I'm not set on one yet, but have narrowed those under consideration.
I have never owned anything from Kuiu that wasn't bombproof, so their pack is quite high on my list.
A newer player in the game is Initial Ascent. I really like what they're about and the pack system they offer. They supposedly carry better as the weight gets heavier.
The other I'm considering is the Exo K3, just because tons of guys love this one. Joseph Von Benedikt gave their pack a glowing review and endorsement after paying for one himself for a recent hunt he did.
Anyone have experience with all three packs or one at the very least, feel free to sound off and sway me towards one of these three.

Last edited:
I will put in one for Kuiu to sway you that direction. I have used mine a bunch of times and most recently did a 115 mile section hike of the JMT with it. Not one blister, abrasion, or even red mark. Went with my mother who had a ultralight Gossamer Gear pack that left 6 inch blisters on both hips and discoloration over her shoulder. Met another guy with one on the trail who had broken his collar bone and could only run a Kuiu because it kept the pressure off his shoulder. Plenty of other great packs out there, but the Kuiu is definitely a nice and lightweight option that takes more after backpacking and mountaineering gear as opposed to Eberlestock and Kifaru which seem more military inspired with heavy Cordura and MOLLE webbing. Check out Stone Glacier as well.