My first antelope

pburton

I have been putting in for antelope tags in NV for the last 10 years. You would think being a NV resident that it would be easy getting tags. Well apparently not. I have never had the opportunity to hunt antelope in the past, coming from CA. Well this was my year. I drew a tag for area 15, which was my 4th choice. But I wasn't going to turn it down. The best part of this hunt is that my 12 year old son is my hunting partner.

Due to my work schedule I only had one day to scout, which turned up very little. A good friend of mine grew up in this area and had his brothers do some scouting for me. Basically all this meant was that they showed me the map and said look in this area. Which was about 100 sq miles. Maybe because they wanted to keep the big ones for themselves.

Opening day I was as excited as my first deer hunt when I was 12. I couldn't sleep the night before, going through check lists in my head. Making sure I had everything I would need.