My .260 ackley improved (proposed)

Schnyd112

It's time to take the plunge. Here is what I am thinking...

40 degree .260 ackley improved from pacific tool .100 freebore and .300 neck
Bartlein 5r, 6.5 mm, 8 twist, #9 or #14 (would like 28" but like the #14 contour better)
Hs precision Psv-0096 (On hand)
Donor action is a rem 700 vSSF originally in .220 swift (on hand, 2000+ round count)
Vortex Hs-t scope 4-16 (have it, will upgrade as necessary)

Debating both a new one piece bolt (PtG) with sako extractor
And an extended magazine box (wyatts)

This is a big undertaking as I have never reloaded anything other than standard cartridges. It is my underatanding I can seat and neck size once or twice fired brass with standard .260 dies until I get cases to send off and have a f/l sizer made. It will be my first foray into 1000+ yards and possibly an f-class rifle. I will also be shooting long range silhouette competitions with it as I do my swift. I am new to competitive shooting but I shoot 50-75 rounds per week, once a month competitions since April. I hope to maintain that level of practice. Any insight you all are willing to share will be greatly appreciated.

Redding makes nice quality dies, buy both the standard .260 Remington set and the Ackley set. This way you can load standard .260s for fireforming and then from there you can use the improved die set. The .260AI is probably my favorite cartridge and by far my favorite 6.5. I am pushing 140 Berger VLD's at 2940 using 42 grains of H4350 and it is an excellent performer. Good luck with the build I am sure you will enjoy it.

Thank you for the kind words. I have a few family members crapping on my idea of an ackley. I can't wait to get everything together. Reamer is on order, I have a smith locally trying to get me a barrel blank and willing to do the work when parts come in without keeping my rifle while we wait. Should be fire forming by by February.