Muzzleloaders and smokeless powders

There are people out there using smokeless powder in muzzleloaders other than a savage model 10II I hear about and I have seeing photograph of guns they have blowed up. Every time a group of us guy gets together and starts talking about muzzleloaders the smokeless question always come up I believe a person could build a custom 45 caliber muzzleloader that could use in taking the pressure that smokeless powder produced but currently the only gun you should put smokeless in is the savage.

Brent, Quaken...

I have been building smokless muzzle loaders for many years, i simply use a Rem Rolling block action, a high pressure bbl in 45 0r 50 cal. 50 is the most popular.
They are fired with a 209 primer, 27 grns of 2400 powder. Tack drivers !!! Elk at 200 yds the barnes X muzzel loader sabo round will go through with lots of damage.

There is a pic of one i built on my website. web page
Birdseye maple stock,,Douglas Stainless bbl, half octagon, half round.

Another smokeless fan!!
smile.gif

Any good info on how the smokeless muzzleloader is primed, loaded etc?

This is all new to me and I don't know diddly about how it's all done.

Books, links or any info to get started would be very much appreciated also.
smile.gif

Thanks guys

Hey thanks for posting my pic Quaken.

This was made for a friend of mine and he has taken some nice bucks with it. If i can remember it was around 1400.00 been about 8 years ago. It all depends if you can supply a Rem Rolling Block action. Any questions just send me a email.

The idea I have is to take a Ruger No. 1 in 458 Winchester magnum and do nothing more then install a breechplug. The hardest thing would be to install a ramrod because the mounting for the forearm is in the center.
wink.gif