Moving into dialing

86alaskan

Ok, so right now I have a Steiner GS3 4-20x50 scope on my 25-06. It has the steiner BDC reticle and up to recently I have been ok with that. I have been shooting the XTR-II on my 260 more recently and have really gotten the hang of dialing that and like the MIL FFP reticle. So, I'm looking to get into a decent FFP MIL/MIL scope for my 25-06. I've been looking hard at the XTR-II in 4-20 because I can get a matching reticle to my 260. So, what other options should I be looking at in the $1000 range? I've got no experience with the Athlon scopes, and I'd like to keep a nice low end for hunting in the woods. Thanks

I can't tell you what else to look at, but i can tell you that I love my XTR-II 4-20. The glass is really good and so far the turrets seem to be accurate and repeatable. While I am at it, I will put a plug in for sportoptics.com. That is where I got mine and they are great people to deal with.

The xtr-II is on the short list right now. for the features it has, I can't do any better any get the same options without spending a fair amount more money. I really like the 3-15 xtr that I have, so I may just stick with the burris.

The Athlon Ares is in that price range and fits what you are looking for. I've been shooting a couple of them since they came out this summer and am very happy with them. Cabelas is carrying them now, go have a look. The reticle is a little thicker at full magnification than I'd like, but that's a balancing act with an FFP.

In fact I think the older Cronus is on sale for black Friday at Cabelas...or it will be. Can't find the flier now, but I think it was $1000, which is really cheap. I also have 2 of the newer Cronus BTR's and I love them. Never had my hands on the older Cronus, but if they are half trhebscope the newer ones are, $1k is a hell of a good deal.