Most efficient load development method

newstwshooter

I'm not a complete newbie to reloading but need a more efficient way to develop loads in a couple new rifles I've bought. My old method used up a lot of powder and lead. I would take a favorite brand bullet and load powder in .5 gr increments starting a min and working up. I would load 5 of each. This method is expensive and time consuming.

I did find some very good loads for a couple of rifles but didn't even get to the part of trying different primers or overall lengths.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

I don't like using it because the likelyhood of human error distorting your data, but a ladder, if done properly, would probably be your best option.

I usually find a load within 7 shots while preforming an Audette Ladder Test. Then I will verify if the potential load is viable with a 3 shot group. I'll keep my eye on the load for imprecision during practice.

If I switch primers, or any component for that matter, I begin load development anew.

I don't mess with COL. If I have a cannelure I seat the bullet to that point. If there is no cannelure, I'll seat the bullet according to my manual.

With my scoped bolt actions, and the proper components; I'll find a sub-.5MOA load by simply adjusting charge weights.

Had your exact dilemma... so last spring started using ladder tests (as mentioned earlier) Have used this method on 5 rifles/loads since then and seems to do good.

I load a 10 round ladder - all .5 gr apart. Load 6-9 more of the best one and re-verify accuracy at "0" range with 3 shots and use the others to verify long range accuracy/validate muzzle velocity (+600 yds).

What I do;
Perform Berger's seating depth test with 1st fire-forming of new brass.
Test primers/striking with best seating so far on 2nd fire-forming.
With brass in stable dimension(FFing completed), incremental load & run a ladder at 300yds with best seating so far.
Confirm suspected node with grouping at 200yds.