Most accurate 1000 yard cartridge that Savage Arms makes?

adamhannah

--Hi, all. I am new to long range shooting and I was wondering what is the best overall caliber to use for 1000 yards? I know this will probably open a can of worms, but I really don't know much about long range shooting. I am mainly wanting this firearm for target shooting (perhaps I would use it occasionally for deer, hogs, and turtles in a private lake), as I already have my hunting rifle taken care of (a Savage 111 in .30-06). Before you start naming off various cartridges, I should let you know that I am left handed and only want to shoot with a left handed bolt action of the Savage brand. Of course, I am looking for something with a high BC as well. What do you suggest? My apologies if this is an open ended question, but I obviously don't know a lot about long range shooting. Thanks.

As a lefty you have to look at what they offer there as well as for the 1000yd game.

for shooting steel and big and little wolves, I chose the md 10 predator, in 243. (I shoot a 7mmrm for bigger game) they make it in 260 and 6.5x284 as well, all three of those will get you to 1k. with the 6.5x 284 being the best for hunting big game. Savage also makes some lh 308 that could do it. or you could rebarrel.

best.
Idahoorion

I'll add 300WSM, 300 Win Mag and any of the 6.5's. 308 will definitely be a good all around cartridge. If you reload, then pick what you feel like using.

team savage uses- 12 6.5-284