montana elk hunting

Big Jakes

I am a newb to the website but so far I like it. I live in norman oklahoma and I do a little deer hunting. The second week of november I am going to be going on a guided elk hunting trip with my father in law. The hunting will be around missoula.nI just purchased one of the new weatherby vanguard series 2 chambered in .300 win mag. The father in law is bringing a 30-06. I have never been elk hunting does anybody in here have any tips for this kind of hunt? Thanks

Trust your guide, ask him plenty of questions beforehand then do exactly as he advises you. He know the area, the elk and how to get one. Listen to him and don't believe what you see on TV.

You are in for a great adventure. I wish you the best and have a great hunt.

Jeff

Exercise frequently, especially going up and down stairs. The elevation is what will really get you, and there is no substitute for being in good condition. If I'm drawn on May 9 for New Mexico I'll be adding stairs to my regimen later this summer.

Buy your base, rings and scope now if you don't have them already. Get the rifle set up and start shooting. Practice out to 300 or 400 yards if you can. This will seem like a looong way if you've not done it before. A good rest will help immensely. If you use factory ammo you'll probably have to buy a box of 3 different types and see how they each group at 200 yards, then go with the best one. With some of the better factory loads you can sight in at 250 yards and be within 3 inches above or below your line of sight out to 300. That means that anything between you and 300 is just aim and shoot. :D

If you own a bipod, get used to using one. Also look into other types of portable rests such as monopods or similar that you can easily carry.