MOA vs. Bullet Drop Compensator

bigsky

I have some questions about MOA dials vs. BDC dials. I am new to LRH and I value your opinions about this. I have a Win Model 70 .270 WSM with a Leupold VX 3 4.5x14x40mm. I have my rifle shooting 1/2 MOA. I am using this rifle to hunt mule deer out to about 600/700 yards. I contacted Leupold and spoke with them about there BDC similiar to the one on The Best Of the West. The individual informed me that he really like the BDC, because it took the guessing out of it. I understand that this BDC dial is particular to the information that you have to provide. Would it be better just to stay with MOA dial? Does this give me more flexibilty? My conditions are usually 7000 ft. at 35 degrees however I could possibly hunt somewere that is 4000 ft. and 50 degrees. I am struggling with this and just wanted to get your guys opiniions. Also how do you guys figure your MOA out in the field? I have some data printed off and was just plaining on sticking it in my hunting pack.
Thanks for all you help!

I think you've answered your own question. The BDC's will work if you never change your load, barrel or elevation.

If you are going to dial your turrets anyway, drop charts and MOA dials will work for all locations, bullet combos etc.

Carrying a drop chart works, or simply tape it to your stock, the inside of a scope cap or just out to 700 yards, memorize it.

Do a search on Ballistics Software here on the forum.

Many people here feel the top of the line software is Exbal, it is nice for giving you an idea of a drop chart for your load/bullet combo. Obviously, you need to shoot at distance to verify the charts.

http://longrangehunting.com/ubbthreads/s...true#Post115562

Hope this helps, and Welcome to the forum.

Don

You can easily run several different altitudes and tempratures for you bullet with a ballistics program and come up with the compensation needed for your BDC.