Mil-dot or not: Mil adj. or MOA?

alcesgigas

I'm just getting into real long range hunting so please forgive if my questions irritate.

I want to dial the distance to hold the reticule on the target--not guesstimate using holdover--already had a lifetime of that. While my targets are large the range is long and sometimes in poor light, but most times I can shoot from a solid platform. Millet offers their 6-25x56 with a 35mm tube, but only mil-dot reticule. Using a 12" kill zone at 400 to 1400 yards would their scope work?

And what's the advantages & disadvantages of .1 mill adj. opposed to 1/4 moa?

I'm just getting into real long range hunting so please forgive if my questions irritate.

I want to dial the distance to hold the reticule on the target--not guesstimate using holdover--already had a lifetime of that. While my targets are large the range is long and sometimes in poor light, but most times I can shoot from a solid platform. Millet offers their 6-25x56 with a 35mm tube, but only mil-dot reticule. Using a 12" kill zone at 400 to 1400 yards would their scope work?

And what's the advantages & disadvantages of .1 mill adj. opposed to 1/4 moa?
My favorite reticles in order.

IOR MP-8 with floating dot.

Leupold TMR

Leupold mil dot.

Each of those offers advantages, one of which being that if you miss and spot it, they help you judge how much you need to adjust.

A scope in the power range you are talking about will certainly work, but for myself I would not buy a Millet. For precision long range shooting on game you need 100% reliability.

I'd say look at Leupold, IOR, NF or if price is a serious concern look at the vortex vipers.

the 1/4 mil adjustments are my preference as they are a bit more precise.

One mil equals about 3.4 MOA so .1mil equals .34 MOA.