Matching Ammo - newbie question

bookworm

I have a couple hundred rounds of "match" ammo that was given to me and I like the way it shoots. I know what kind of bullet is used in them but I don't know what kind of powder or primers.

Through reloading is it feasible to think that I could replicate the performance of this ammo that I have, or is that a pipe dream? If so, do you have suggestions on how I would go about matching the performance?

I currently do not reload, but intend to begin doing so in the coming weeks.

I'm new to long range shooting and I'm in a quandry as to whether I should use this ammo to develop my drop charts and such. Once I shoot it up I wonder if I will be back at square one regarding the collection and use of my ballistics/shot data.

Should I go through the trouble and use this ammo to develop shot data or wait until I have my own recipe of reloads?

Thanks for helping out the new guy.

If I really liked the way it shot, I'd chrono 10 rounds and write down the velocities and the temperature etc.

I'd Measure the OAL length, as well as the length from the base to the shoulder.

I'd take a few of them apart and see how much powder was in them (I'd weigh and also estimate the fill volume).

Then I'd jump on Quickload and try to figure out a few powders that are estimated to give the same velocity with the same load and have around the same load density. I'd verify the loads in some loading books and start there.

Even without doing all the above, it is likely you will be able to find a load that shoots just as good (if not better) by reloading.

If you get a load using the same bullet at the same velocity, any drops you have with the factory loaded stuff should be very close.

HTH

AJ

If you're trying to duplicate factory ammo, you won't be able to obtain the powder used, the factorys don't use the cannister grade powders the gunstore sells. If they're handloads, why not just ask for the load data?