Marksmanship - Developing a Routine

RockyMtnHigh

I'm a beginner long range shooter, and I'm doing my best to self-teach myself and validate everything on the range and in the field. I've read everything I can get my hands on with respect to marksmanship (what I'm talking about here is the entire process from setting up my rifle to pulling the trigger).

I find that I'm checking all sorts of important aspects of the shot before pulling the trigger from proper position / alignment to sight picture to cheek weld to breathing, etc., but I never seem to do it the same way or in the same order. This leads me to second guess myself a lot of times. Does anyone have a mnemonic device or some sort of acronym I can memorize so it becomes more rule based?

I'd like to get to the point where each shot is systematic. Meaning, I'm checking everything the same way and in the same order every time.

Any help or advice on what works for you is much appreciated.

With practice it becomes all about muscle memory. You and the rifle just kind of mold together like your fingers on your hand when you hold your hands flat out.

I can't help you with a mnemonic butt start with this.

1) Steady well supported position.

2) Buttstock properly shouldered.

4) Eye/Sight alignment/cheek weld

5) Trigger timing and control.

Shooting off of a bench all of the time kind of makes us lazy, and in the field you never know for sure what position you'll be shooting from when that once in a lifetime opportunity appears so you need to practice from different positions as well.

It's really not that hard. If you consistently mount the rifle in the same manner, and have good discipline on the trigger you can just relax and have fun with it. You will get to where it "just feels right" when it all comes together at which time you'll notice the round is already out of the barrel and lined up for a clean kill before you really even have thought specificall about pulling the trigger.