Making the switch Nosler to ADG brass in 28

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by JJMoody, Aug 14, 2019 at 2:42 PM.


Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:


  1. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Got some great loads worked up with nosler brass in my 28, but want to run ADG. Looking for data from those who’ve been there, done that. Current accuracy load with 180s/Retumbo at 80.6gr using 215s yields 3200fps and hammers a lot farther out than I’m capable of. Short of complete reworking from 10% lower, where are guys at? Also what bushing is working?
     
  2. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Am I the first to do this??
     
  3. Rhovee

    Rhovee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    663
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    ADG has a slight capacity gain. Just start at 80.3 and work up in .3. Load will be very similar. Might have to load 80.9.
     
    JJMoody likes this.
  4. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Should’ve just asked you what you were loading to start with! Btw, MO is in the mail
     
  5. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    What bushing?
     
  6. L.Sherm

    L.Sherm Well-Known Member LRH Team Member

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    I think I people are kinda shy about giving load info, atleast I am. Every gun and barrels different. When you switch components the safest route is just drop back and kinda start over.
     
    JJMoody likes this.
  7. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Yeah, I get it. Usually start out this type of thread with the “I have a brain” disclaimer, but guess I get pragmatic when typing on a phone. I showed my data in an effort to give a baseline for where I was with nosler brass. So, all information is taken with a grain of salt. Feel free to share knowing I won’t blow myself up.
     
  8. Rhovee

    Rhovee Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    663
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Just weight the brass with water. If it has
    More capacity it will take more powder to get to the same speeds.
     
    JJMoody likes this.
  9. JJMoody

    JJMoody Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    10-4. Should be good to go.
     
  10. DoubleGobble00

    DoubleGobble00 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    I just switched from Nosler brass to adg brass in my 300 rum. My velocity and pressure was the same as my old Load when I used 2 grains less powder. The adg was thicker and didn’t need as much powder... I’m glad I started low and worked up.
     
    JJMoody and WYO300RUM like this.
  11. mmsports

    mmsports Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Where did you get your ADG brass?
     
  12. L.Sherm

    L.Sherm Well-Known Member LRH Team Member

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Go to ADG's website and get on there list or they have a list of dealers.
    There brass is in high demand for a reason.
     
    JJMoody likes this.
  13. bigbulls

    bigbulls Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    This was my experience with 30 Nosler had to go up .3 grains to be the same as Nosler brass, ADG has a little more case capacity. You will be pleased Nosler after 2-3 firing primer pockets gone, ADG has 4 now and still feel like new.
     
    L.Sherm and JJMoody like this.
  14. coyotezapper

    coyotezapper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    829
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Never had a problem with Nosler brass but then again I don't load them over pressured. 3200 fps with 180's in my rifles are a little warm - 72K.