M1A's for LRH???

BENNYBOOBOO

Hey all. Does anybody have any experience with M1A's for long range shooting/hunting? The Savage I have is a great shooter, but I'm ready for something different possibly.

Kicking around the idea of having my first custom rifle built, but don't quite know where to start. The features I would like are:

-.308 win (Perfect for Pacific Northwest game)
-Unquestionably reliable semi-auto action (If it only works sometimes/finicky, it isn't fun)
-Detachable box magazine
-Capable of 1/2 MOA from a benchrest/bipod
-And a small list of other features that can be done later like an adjustable butt-plate and cheek-rest

Any other suggestions would of course be welcome. I'm a one-gun-guy, so it's gonna be an all-out project or I just won't start.

Thanks all,

EH

I have been using my M1A now for a couple years for long range tactical competition. For hitting paper is works pretty good but I am having a hard time getting it under 1MOA accuracy. I have a buddy that put his in a JEA stock and it still did not come below 1MOA. From what I have been reading they take a lot of work to accurize and then keep accurized. If you do go with one you can not run bullets eavier than 175gr just to give you some extra info on the subject. If you want to build one for accuracy I would buy a rear lug reciever and get high end parts to build it up. Also try to get a high end barrel.

I have actually been considering going to the AR platform but making sure it will have some sort of forward assist. You can build them to have a fully floated barrel and they are pretty easy to accurize. The AR platform is pretty easy to get reliable, the biggest issue is making sure you keep it clean.

Hey all. Does anybody have any experience with M1A's for long range shooting/hunting? The Savage I have is a great shooter, but I'm ready for something different possibly.