Looks like I've come to the right place

benbradley

Looks like I\'ve come to the right place

Well it seems like I've found a place where I can get some questions answered by people who've been there and done that, but first, a little background:
I recently acquired a new Savage 12FV 22-250 with a Simmons 4-12x40 scope. It's the first rifle that I've owned that is designed to be used for accuracy at long ranges. I qualify 38/40 on BRM so I fancy myself to be a decent shot with iron sights, but I'm not experienced with a scope beyond what I've read (which is quite a lot).
Here then are my questions: 1) What is the distance being addressed when the term "long-range" is used? 300+, 500+, more? 2) How can I accurately simulate extra distance between myself and my target (optically) by shrinking the target? Is there a formula or table that I can use? 3) Where in eastern Washington/western Idaho can I find some varmints? 4) What is the typical range involved with varmint hunting?
I know that I'm forgetting a bunch of questions that I'll remember 5 minutes after I post this.

Re: Looks like I\'ve come to the right place

1) I think how far 'Long range' is depends on the catridge in question more than anything (I would say a long shot with a .22 is 250y-300y, where a long shot with a .300 Ultra Mag might be 1200y) But generally i would say 600y+

2) Not sure, but if your using a 12"x12" target with a 2" bullseye at 200y, a 6"x6" target with a 1" bullseye would look simler to the origanal target at 400y. Or try winding you scope power back a bit.

3) Sorry can't help there

4) Going from my own experiance with .22 centerfires around 200-350 yards

Hope this helps
wink.gif

-Jamie

[ 05-17-2004: Message edited by: IceSniper ]

Hey Ben!

I fairly new here myself. There are a great bunch of guys on this forum, and I think you'll find just about every question you have answered here.